The Godfather (of wine)

I suppose after a two month absence from blogging this space probably resembles Love Canal but I’m back and mediocre as ever.

As usual, I wish I had some better reason for being away, like my wife and supermodel mistress surprised me with a trip to Italy – just the three of us –  and we spent the fall drinking wine, helping with the harvest in Multipulciano and I’ve just returned tanned, well fed and tired.

But surely you all (and by you all, I mean just you) know this is not true.  What is fact is that life is busy, work is busy and if our fall sales are any indicator, the wine economy is slowly getting back on track.  And that’s good enough reason for me to have been away from the blogosphere.

I’ve not been without things to write about though.  I started a post about a local wine bar that used to suck and has now made a refreshing comeback, we had our annual customer party in September proving that the hard work of reaching out to your customers in order to build your brand is more powerful than any reviewers score, and I just got back from Asia, where we plan to launch a new wine in the next few months (more on that in a future posting – I hope).

The thing that I decided to lead with as my first post “back” however has to do with a subject I’ve touched upon before, the fact that I’m in the alcohol business and have young children.  That there’s is a certain stigma (deservedly so, if I must be honest) when it comes to sharing my career at school if it comes up.   It’s not as bad as if I say, worked for RJ Reynolds but it might be worse than if I worked for Hughes making missile guidance systems that are used to kill innocent people in Iraq or Afghanistan.

Or is this all too melodramatic? I wouldn’t have thought so but my last interaction with a teacher at school made me feel that I was a member of the Gambino crime family and not a laid back winery partner.

My older son is now a fellow blogger.  He’s proud of it, I’m proud of him, and I’m indebted to his teacher, who happens to have created an award winning classroom blog.  It’s great and has really given the kids in the class a head start on the world they will be inheriting technologically.  As parents we’ve been asked to participate by commenting on their posts and in a recent one I mentioned my job.  His teacher very kindly – and with a true bit of remorse – told me she could not use my post because I mentioned wine as she felt this was inappropriate for the class to consume (pun intended).

I understood her logic then and I understand it now.  And yet I’ve found myself coming back to our discussion wondering if my harmless comment really posed a problem for the class, a group who also have great parents, many of whom I’ve actually shared a glass of wine with.  Would they have minded?  Was the teacher heading off a possible comment from the principal?

My whole point is, I get it, I’m not upset.  But now I’m simply curious if other people – even in other “borderline” careers (drug company rep, “R” rated film producer, lawyer) have dealt with similar circumstances at their child’s school.

Lets open up this debate and get me some readers back!

Bada bing!

Published in: on December 1, 2009 at 5:08 pm  Leave a Comment  

The URI to TrackBack this entry is: https://daddywinebucks.wordpress.com/2009/12/01/the-godfather-of-wine/trackback/

RSS feed for comments on this post.

Leave a Reply

